Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 44 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:19 pm
Posts: 815
Location: UK
Windy wrote:
Didn't have the opportunity to read it because of my medical issue. I just finished going through that thread and it's awesome!!

Now for some somber news. :cry:

If I right-click the Dock Control Icon > Insert New Dock Item > Internal Command > Disk > CD Control, nothing happens when I click on it. I can't get the CD Control to work. When I open the Dock Entry Properties for the CD Control on my dock, Run As Administrator, Run, Animation and Find Item are all grayed-out.

I checked my Win7 PC and Run As Administrator is checked.

If I drag and drop my DVD/CD drive onto the dock and then click on it, it opens the drawer but won't close it. A dialog pops up telling me to insert a disc-probably because it functions as a folder as I saw in the Dock Entry Properties.

I have the CD Control int. cmd. in a menu, and same thing here - only opens, won't close. But, OTOH, much quicker to do it all manually anyway, esp. closing as one has either just inserted or removed a disc anyway so the hand's right there already. :)

_________________
nexter - so, what's next?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
Windy wrote:
If I drag and drop my DVD/CD drive onto the dock and then click on it, it opens the drawer but won't close it. A dialog pops up telling me to insert a disc-probably because it functions as a folder as I saw in the Dock Entry Properties.


Not all CD drives (especially not those on laptops) can close the door by themselves. Some require the user to physically push the tray to close.

Opening via the CD Control IC should still work though. Are you sure it's pointing to the right CD drive (check the drive letter) in the CD Control IC Item Properties dialog. Also, is there an error message popping up a short time after clicking on it?

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
Yep, it's pointing to the correct drive. There is no error message. Nothing at all happens when I click on it.

This PC (Win10) has a Blu-ray drive. Is there a way for me to gain administrator rights to the drive? Could that be the problem?

The reason I'm wondering if that could be the problem is as mentioned earlier, Run As Administrator is grayed out but checked/ticked on my Win7 PC.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
The IC does not need Admin rights to do its job.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
So, do you know why it won't work?

Does anyone else have this problem? It works perfectly on my Win& PC.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
Windy wrote:
So, do you know why it won't work?


No I don't. The fact that it does not spew out an error message makes me think that the CD Control IC was told by Windows that the command to eject the drive succeeded. Why nothing actually happens I have no idea.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
I'm having another issue that's very annoying and can't figure out how to stop it.

I use Irfanview for my default image viewer and have been using it for years along with Winstep Xtreme.

Now since using it with the Win10 PC, every time I open an image via the context menu using a Hotspot, the stupid thing keeps asking me "How do you want to open this file?" I already have Irfanview set as the default. It doesn't do that if I open an image without using Xtreme. For example, if I activate the Hotspot context menu by bumping> right-click a folder > Open > then left-click an image, it will open the image without asking.

To see what I'm talking about, check out the following link of how it works on the Win7 PC without asking. It starts at 0:23. I made this video some years ago.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr8UPacCWq0


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
After installing the new beta v18.8.1331 (NextSTART V18.8.881) the scaling issue I had with WorkShelf is gone!! :D

However, there is a new problem with WorkShelf. Now when I scroll through the icons, it scrolls in the opposite direction! When I move my mouse ring downwards, it will scroll up, and vice-versa.

The icons are in reverse order alphabetically. In other words, it's acting like it's in descending order on Windows Explorer/folder instead of ascending.

I tried right-clicking on WorkShelf > Sort by > and repeatedly click Name, to try to toggle through to change the ascending/descending order like it would in the View > Sort by, section in a folder in Windows since I couldn't find where to change that.

This is the first time that this has ever happened.

Oh BTW, I haven't installed the betas on my Win7 PC yet. I have to leave shortly to teach. I'll install it when I get back to see if it does it on that PC as well.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 11:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
Actually it is NOW that it's working as it should. See THIS post for reference and my explanation immediately below it.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
I'm still a bit confused about it. Can you make an option to make WorkShelf work the way it did before? It's kind of like peddling a bicycle and going backwards instead of forward.

I didn't install the betas on my Win7 yet. Just when I finished teaching, my family called and they just arrived at the house from out of town. We ended up going out to eat and chatted for a while. Now it's after midnight. I'm too tired to install and test it now, but will do it tomorrow morning or afternoon.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
Windy wrote:
I'm still a bit confused about it. Can you make an option to make WorkShelf work the way it did before? It's kind of like peddling a bicycle and going backwards instead of forward.


Sorry, Windy, I can't, you will just have to get used to it again, at least in terms of the order of the icon rows. What you had before when more than one row of icons was showing was WRONG, which created a visual glitch when collapsing/un-collapsing a Shelf, now it's right.

HOWEVER, if you mean only the action of the mouse scroll wheel, that is something still open to discussion. I will mention it to the others in the topic next door.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:19 pm
Posts: 815
Location: UK
winstep wrote:
Windy wrote:
I'm still a bit confused about it. Can you make an option to make WorkShelf work the way it did before? It's kind of like peddling a bicycle and going backwards instead of forward.


Sorry, Windy, I can't, you will just have to get used to it again, at least in terms of the order of the icon rows. What you had before when more than one row of icons was showing was WRONG, which created a visual glitch when collapsing/un-collapsing a Shelf, now it's right.

HOWEVER, if you mean only the action of the mouse scroll wheel, that is something still open to discussion. I will mention it to the others in the topic next door.

Mouse scroll wheel seems absolutely right. It acts the way it should and indeed does everywhere else.

_________________
nexter - so, what's next?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10429
nexter wrote:
Mouse scroll wheel seems absolutely right. It acts the way it should and indeed does everywhere else.


Not so sure. It's right for a Shelf at the *bottom* of the screen - now stick that same Shelf at the *top* of the screen and let me know.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:19 pm
Posts: 815
Location: UK
winstep wrote:
nexter wrote:
Mouse scroll wheel seems absolutely right. It acts the way it should and indeed does everywhere else.


Not so sure. It's right for a Shelf at the *bottom* of the screen - now stick that same Shelf at the *top* of the screen and let me know.

Actually, I was referring to a top-docked shelf. :) The direction of the icon rows is down, so it makes perfect sense. (More also in the other thread.) Though the scroll arrows somehow *feel* wrong in this context although of course they are perfectly correct.

_________________
nexter - so, what's next?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing Settings Doesn't Work
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 760
winstep wrote:
Windy wrote:
I'm still a bit confused about it. Can you make an option to make WorkShelf work the way it did before? It's kind of like peddling a bicycle and going backwards instead of forward.


Sorry, Windy, I can't, you will just have to get used to it again, at least in terms of the order of the icon rows. What you had before when more than one row of icons was showing was WRONG, which created a visual glitch when collapsing/un-collapsing a Shelf, now it's right.


I've always used only one row and cycled through. I guess I'm having problems understanding why it can't use a similar function like Windows Explorer/folder does (Ascending/Descending) to change the icon order which I figure should not cause a glitch.

I just can't understand why the program cares if the order is ascending or descending.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 44 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: