Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 6 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: AutoCAD Windows installer
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:43 am
Posts: 5
I have been using Winstep Xtreme for a couple of years, but about a year ago I had an issue.
Whenever I click on the settings button for the workshelf, or try to navigate the various tabs in the floating dock the Windows installer launches attempting to install "AutoCAD"
I have AutoCAD 2016 running on my PC.
Once this happens Winstep Xtreme stops working but the only way I can close it dow is to use "Task Manager" and "End Task"
It shuts down and starts up as normal, but still the settings buttons and dock again try to launch the installer if I try them on no matter how many times I restart the software.
Because of the issue I haven't used it for many months, but decided to try again, so I bought a new licence and installed the latest version. But alas the problem is still there.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows installer
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10580
Yes, I have heard other complaints about this, so I am actually glad someone has posted this in the forums.

This is STRICTLY a problem with AutoCAD (I've changed the title of this thread to reflect this) and you will have to write to AutoDesk for them to fix THEIR software. This does not happen only with Winstep applications, but is something that also affects many other VB applications.

When you open Winstep Preferences, the panels use the Microsoft Common Controls ocx to display some of the controls. Unfortunately the AutoCAD installer made a mess with this OCX when AutoCAD was installed - if failed to re-install this very common OCX properly (probably used some install-on-demand setting for it).

As a result, anything that uses this OCX will cause the AutoCAD Installer to launch. HERE is AutoDesk's description of the problem and their 'solutions'.

I am not familiar with AutoCAD, so other than their own proposed solution(s) above, I have no solution (trying re-installing AutoCAD and tell it to install everything, if it has such an option, then re-install Xtreme on top). What I do know is that this is an issue AutoDesk have been aware of (date of that article is 2014) and are apparently either unable or unwilling to fix.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: AutoCAD Windows installer
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:43 am
Posts: 5
Many thanks for this. Having checked out the Autocad link you posted it really doesn't help me much. So could you confirm, if I uninstalled Autocad from my laptop this would solve the problem. Or would I also need to do a registry clean using CCleaner. The copy of Autocad is a works program and so having removed it from my laptop I propose to install "Turbocad" by Imsi design URL for there website below.

Are you aware of any similar problems with Turbocad (clashing with Winstep xtreme by spuriously launching Windows installer when clicking on a Winstep setting button)

Thanks - Bobster

https://www.turbocad.co.uk


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AutoCAD Windows installer
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10580
You should not run into a similar problem with TurboCAD, but, then again, I am just guessing. I don't run any CAD applications here, never did.

Not sure if simply uninstalling AutoCAD will definitely solve the problem either - it should, but you will probably need to do that *and* re-install Winstep Xtreme *on top* of its current installation (i.e.; DO NOT uninstall Winstep Xtreme first, just exit all running Winstep applications and run the Xtreme setup program again).

By now you have probably already realized that you will be flying a bit solo on this, and I am just as curious as you to find out what the results will be... so please keep us posted every step of the way (first uninstall AutoCAD, see if that solved the problem, re-install Xtreme on top if not, see if that solved the problem, let me know...)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: AutoCAD Windows installer
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:43 am
Posts: 5
OK, I have uninstalled Autocad 2016 and then checked my C drive files. There was still some Autocad related files on the drive so I manually deleted them.
Also checked the "Local State" for files and found a few Autocad related files there.
Then I decided to run C Cleaner and spruce up the registry.
Again loads of Autocad related registry issues which C Cleaner resolved.
I restarted my PC, reinstalled Winstep Xtreme on top of the existing as you suggested and all is now working fine and dandy.

I now have Turbocad as my CAD software and two things;
1 - It's massively cheaper, and I mean MASSIVELY cheaper
2 - It does everything Autocad does, including opening .dwg's and saving in that format also.
What's not to like!!!
Bobster


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AutoCAD Windows installer
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10580
Thanks for getting back! :)

So, just uninstalling AutoCAD wasn't enough, from what I understood? Winstep Xtreme still had to be re-installed?

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 6 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron