Winstep Forums
http://forums.winstep.net/phpBB2/

Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from DAZ
http://forums.winstep.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11060
Page 1 of 1

Author:  RAMWolff [ Thu May 30, 2019 2:13 am ]
Post subject:  Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from DAZ

Hi,

I use a program called DAZ Studio. It's a 3D rendering suite that I use to develop content with. I have a new computer. It's sort of been a nightmare but I'm finally mostly GOLD with how things are running. The one issue I'm noticing is that when I'm doing a render with DAZ Studio the transparency for Nexus falters as each new bit of the render is being processed so I get what I call black outs. The base of the Nexus background goes black and then goes back to normal ... this happens multiple times during a render. Doesn't seem to hurt anything or cause software errors for Nexus but it's a little disconcerting.

Wondering if there is a fix for this?

I'm running Windows 10 Pro and it's up to date fully.

Please let me know.

Thank you
Richard

Author:  winstep [ Fri May 31, 2019 7:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from

Ok, here is what is probably happening: Nexus is trying to get some information from the DAZ Studio process itself (probably because you have it set to display running applications?) but because the DAZ Studio process is busy, it ends up temporarily hanging Nexus.

Nexus is pretty much protected from a 3rd party process hanging it (it uses timeouts when asking 3rd party applications for info) but if you run into a situation where the 3rd party process stops responding for a long time but is not actually hung, you might run into that sort of thing.

Still, it shouldn't be THAT bad. So:

1. Do you have Nexus Ultimate set to show currently running applications in a dock or Shelf?

2. If so, do the freezes stop if you add DAZ Studio to the Thumbnail Exclusion list?

Preferences -> Tasks tab -> Advanced button -> Thumbnail Exclusion List -> Add button -> select DAZ Studio from the left (assuming it's running) -> Enable 'Retrieve thumbnail once but do not refresh it'.

Author:  RAMWolff [ Sat Jun 01, 2019 12:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from

Thank you. I'm just home from work and eating dinner but I did add DAZ Studio to the list and didn't refresh. So upon my next time using the program I'm hoping that will not cause these "black outs".... if not I'll go over your suggestions once more, while the program is running and hope that it clears up the issue.

Author:  winstep [ Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from

Let me know one way or the other, please, so I know where to look at for the problem. :)

Author:  RAMWolff [ Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Nexus Ultimate does little blackouts when rendering from

Just finished a 3Delight render in DAZ Studio.. no black outs but I could have sworn yesterday morning I was getting some here and there.... I'll let you know if that happens again! Thanks for the help!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/