Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 15 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
Don't know why, my weather module stopped working. Tried retrieving the weather forecast, but I get a message that says it could not determine my location based on my IP address. :(


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Not seeing a problem here, at least not after the weather.com temporary outage a few days ago.

Go to the Weather Settings panel and manually select your location there.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
I tried but no luck. It appears there is no connection getting through. Maybe the outage screwed up my connection?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Try a different location, see if that works. If not, go the the Advanced tab in WorkShelf Preferences, click the Troubleshooting Options button, then click on 'Check Internet Connection'.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
I tried changing locations, but no luck. I then tried troubleshooting and got the following message.

An internet connection is available, but there was an error retrieving data. Connection timed out.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
You blocked the application on your firewall. Go unblock it. :)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
What name specifically should I look for? Don't know how that could have happened. I didn't manually block anything. I also have to figure out where to look since I didn't do it.

Oh BTW, I just checked. I still have my Win7 PC hooked up in another room with the same AV and firewall via WIFI (with the old version of Xtreme 18.5) and the module works fine.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
I just uninstalled my firewall. The module still won't connect. However, this time the module message reads:

Connection Failed!

Sorry, connection to Weather Service failed!
Reason, socket operation on nonsocket.
Please try again later...


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Your system looks borked, Windy. Unfortunately I can't help you much since I use ESET Smart Security here - and you didn't even mention what firewall you were using.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
I use the free version of Comodo Firewall. I even found a link on YouTube to reset the socket but it didn't work. :( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmWUrFIK8RY

For security and speed reasons, I started using a free VPN the past couple of weeks. I rarely ever use the Win7 PC. It's there as a backup or if a visitor needs to use a PC. I'll check it every 3 to 4 weeks to keep it updated. So only a handful of new programs are on there (no VPN) and I haven't seen any Win7 updates for quite sometime.

Could the combination of the temporary outage, using a VPN (I disable it when I come here) and a recent Win10 update have caused the problem?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
I truly don't know, Windy, you are kind of on your own on this one, sorry. :(

If the trouble began when you started using the VPN, then that is the likely cause.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
Great news!! :D It just got fixed! I contacted MS yesterday. The person that did the remote support yesterday had to escalate it.

So this morning the person on the escalation team said he did something to the settings to prevent it from happening again. However, at my request, he left me instructions on how to fix it in case it ever happened again.

What happened is pretty much what I outlined in my previous post. "Could the combination of the temporary outage, using a VPN (I disable it when I come here) and a recent Win10 update have caused the problem?" To be more specific, he told me that the port got changed to the wrong one.

I was amazed at how fast he fixed it. He fixed in a few minutes. He did say he researched it before contacting me.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 4:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Glad to know it's working again. :)

Now stop messing with things that are NOT broken lol :P

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
:lol: The only thing I did was use a VPN. I didn't change anything. The settings he configured to prevent it from happening again were only MS. He didn't mess around with any of the Winstep settings.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Module Stopped Working
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
I know. This had nothing to do with the Winstep application and all to do with the changes you made to Windows.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 15 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: