Winstep

Software Technologies

Winstep Forums

Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 4 posts ]
 Post subject: Problem since the upgrade...
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 8:13 am 

I allowed the automatic upgrade that appeared this morning and now have a minor problem with NextStart.
I use the NeXTSTEP theme and I have the system tray appearing, with its button, in the bottom right corner.
In the past, the icons in the systray have always formed 2 rows and the button has been square. Since the update, they are in only one row instead.

Can anyone remind me how to get it back to 2 rows? I've been using Winstep for many years, but I never change anything so I can't remember how to sort this and I can't find anything obvious in the settings!

Thanks
Steve

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 6:22 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

I have some good news and some bad news for you. :D

The good news is that NextSTART now handles the systray in a completely different way. You will no longer have occasional problems with animated systray icons, odd transparency masks, WindowBlinds interfering with systray background transparency, the systray suddenly disappearing or appearing at the wrong position, etc...

The new method no longer manipulates the original systray with some black magic, instead it creates its very own copy of the systray and displays that instead, leaving the original well alone.

Since previously the NextSTART systray *was* the Windows systray, NextSTART was unable to change its size and shape. So, if a user had a three row taskbar, the NextSTART taskbar would also be a minimum of 3 rows high in order to accomodate the systray.

To change the size of the systray, you had to disable NextSTART task management and resize the Windows taskbar and then re-enable NextSTART task management again. Not so good.