Winstep

Software Technologies

Winstep Forums

Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Buy just NextStart?.. and some suggestions
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:40 am 

Hi, I'm new to Winstep. (sorry if this gets a bit long)

I wanted to ditch the Windows 7 taskbar yet still have the same functionality for switching between applications. I tried various docks (ObjectDock, RocketDock, Nexus, etc), none worked how I wanted. I actually tried Litestep which kept crashing. Then I installed Winstep Xtreme to test it out. After some tinkering I almost have what I want.

http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/311/deskv.png
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/9061/desk2.png

That's a combination of NextStart (TaskList) and Rainmeter.

This would be absolutely perfect (for me) if you could:
1. pin applications the same as the Windows taskbar. Then when the application is running the icon would simply be highlighted in a way so you'd know it's running.
2. click an application with multiple instances to bring up the preview view rather than the list view.
3. drag and rearrange the order of the icons.
4. hold shift and click a running application icon to open a new instance of it.

Basically just copy the way the Windows 7 taskbar works (because it's great, I just don't like the bulkiness of a taskbar).

Also, I've noticed sometimes an application doesn't appear in the list: eg. I've seen Firefox disappear (the icon) until I alt-tab to it.

So, I was considering buying NextStart but I can't seem to find where to buy it. The closest thing I can find is Winstep Xtreme Basic which comes with a few other applications which I won't even use.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:16 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

NextSTART is no longer sold separately. As you've figured out yourself, the closest thing is Winstep Xtreme Basic. Since Winstep Xtreme is modular, you won't have to use any applications you don't want.