Winstep

Software Technologies

Winstep Forums

Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 11 posts ]
 Post subject: Excel 2 documents open, three show in taskbar.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:23 pm 

I'm rather new to WinStep and so far am impressed.

However, I'm having trouble with something I'd like some help on.

I'm using Excel 2010, and when I open a document I get a single thumbnail in my WinStep taskbar which says "Microsoft Excel - [docname1]". So far so good.

But if I open a second document it shows three thumbnails. The first thumbnail is "Microsoft Excel - [docname2]", which it turns out is the active document. The second one is simply [docname1] with the third named {docname2]. They all three have the excel logo and offer nice previews.

But I really only have two documents open, not three. I am fairly computer savvy and tried tried a number of ideas to no avail so I'm now looking for an expert.

Note that in the Windows taskbar it correctly shows up as two documents, not three, called [docname1] and [docname2].

Any ideas on how to lose the redundant thumbnail?

Dennis

Post subject: Re: Excel 2 documents open, three show in taskbar.
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:56 am 

I just checked mine and have same problem on Win7 64 bit. Also, if I hover over the first (active) thumbnail, After a bit I get a fullscreen preview. Hovering over either of the other two after previewing the first shows no preview at all. If I go right to either and hover, all I get is a fullscreen preview of the active document. IF I click on them the correct document will take focus and appear.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:19 am 

Thanks. Yes, I forgot to mention I was using win 7, 64 bit as well. I also have the preview phenomenon but it seems to be intermittent.

I'm curious if this behavior is only experienced on win 7 or if it can be replicated on both. I'll try it on my work computer later today which has windows xp.

Dennis