Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:36 am
Posts: 7
As the title says; is there a way to configure Nexus so that it also shows up with the windows task bar when I press the WIN/windows button on the keyboard?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10464
No. The WIN key is system reserved.

You can assign some other keyboard shortcut to the dock though.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:36 am
Posts: 7
hmm could you help me understand how to do that? I see a keybinding option for opening the Preferences window but nothing to make the bar appear over other apps.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10464
Preferences -> Behavior tab -> Activation Settings -> Hotkey

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:36 am
Posts: 7
Ah perfect, thank you!


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 pm
Posts: 31
voidedzim wrote:
Ah perfect, thank you!


I'll use this old post....
There's a problem when dock is set to "allocate (reserve) desktop space".

When you hide it, user expects the previously allocated space, be freeded, so other apps can use it.


Attachments:
DockHide.jpg
DockHide.jpg [ 343.8 KiB | Viewed 2444 times ]
Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Make dock appear with Windows Key?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10464
SullyPanda76cl wrote:
There's a problem when dock is set to "allocate (reserve) desktop space".

When you hide it, user expects the previously allocated space, be freeded, so other apps can use it.


That is not a problem, it is by design. That is how Appbars work - if you set the Windows taskbar to auto-hide it stops reserving screen space AT ALL TIMES. If you set it NOT to auto-hide, it reserves screen space AT ALL TIMES.

You cannot have an in-between for several good reasons.

If you set the dock to auto-hide then you don't need to make it reserve screen space, so just disable that option.

Also, please don't use unrelated old posts. Just make a new post.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 7 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], oOSGearOo and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: