Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 675 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 ... 45  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
Jesus Christ! It's like if you guys were running a completely different version there - I don't seen ANY of those issues here.

Sacco, can you reproduce oOSGearOo issue with the Search bar there?

Also, a dock is NOT supposed to auto hide while a grid stack is open. It never does here, but does so immediately there. Why?!

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:28 pm
Posts: 144
The Control Panel tab type of Shelfs does not works with the search filter. It freezes the workshelf when you start typing.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:39 am
Posts: 93
winstep wrote:
Jesus Christ! It's like if you guys were running a completely different version there - I don't seen ANY of those issues here.

Sacco, can you reproduce oOSGearOo issue with the Search bar there?

Also, a dock is NOT supposed to auto hide while a grid stack is open. It never does here, but does so immediately there. Why?!


Would you like to have my settings and my database?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
oOSGearOo wrote:
Also not from the video the text displaying in the bottom left, of the video.


Ok, fixed those. The Shelf is not supposed to accept key presses or pop up the Search Filter while collapsed, but was.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
sacco_belmonte wrote:
Would you like to have my settings and my database?


What do you mean by 'database'? A backup of your settings might be useful indeed, thanks. :)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:46 am
Posts: 403
i think 'disable quick search' is one of the settings that could be global?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
seeker wrote:
i think 'disable quick search' is one of the settings that could be global?


It *IS* global. Don't you see the little global icon next to it?

*All* the settings the in Advanced Behavior dialog of Shelves/Drawers/Grid Stacks are now global.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:39 am
Posts: 93
Here are my settings.

As database I mean a folder that has all the shortcuts and some other files. (300mb in size so is doable)


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
sacco_belmonte wrote:
As database I mean a folder that has all the shortcuts and some other files. (300mb in size so is doable)


LOL. Ah, no, thanks. :)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
sacco_belmonte wrote:
If I set the workshelf "always on top" each sub grid stack will open behind it. Once set to normal they open at the top of the z order.


Should have fixed this.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
Vlad wrote:
The Control Panel tab type of Shelfs does not works with the search filter. It freezes the workshelf when you start typing.


I guess that is why oOSGearOo is getting all those errors (he's using the Search Box on a Control Panel tab type) although I am still unable to reproduce here.

Going to try on a Windows 10 VM.

EDIT: Froze on Windows 10. Time to start digging.

EDIT 2: A quick explanation that might be interesting:

The Control Panel tab is 'special' on 64 bit systems, as its contents cannot be properly enumerated from a 32 bit application.

This is a bit stupid as the shell should offer some degree of isolation, but it seems to be because control panel (.CPL) items are actually Windows DLLs, and 64 bit DLLs cannot run inside a 32 bit process space.

So, if you try to enumerate Control Panel items on a 64 bit system from inside a 32 bit application using the standard method, all you get are the 32 bit Control Panel items. None of the 64 bit Control Panel items (i.e.; most of them) will show up.

So, the Shelf must use a non-standard way to get those items, and it seems like it's this that is causing problems.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
Ok, figured it out: I was missing a ByVal keyword when deleting a shell namespace item

Ooops.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:42 pm
Posts: 135
winstep wrote:
I guess that is why oOSGearOo is getting all those errors (he's using the Search Box on a Control Panel tab type) although I am still unable to reproduce here.

Going to try on a Windows 10 VM.

EDIT: Froze on Windows 10. Time to start digging.

EDIT 2: A quick explanation that might be interesting:

I find that I need to enter in the same'ish text move the mouse over so the icon gets focus, then to continue to type I think. HIH

_________________
oOSGearOo Aka Steve....
http://technobable.com
https://www.technobable.com/uncategoriz ... p-extreme/


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 3:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
oOSGearOo wrote:
Firstly being through the power option Icons in control panel in a shelf are not displaying properly we have still the “?”Icon.


Fixed your question mark (?) Power Options icon, you nitpicker! :wink:

You didn't say anything about your previous pet peeve, the Network tab.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10426
sacco_belmonte wrote:
This one shows stacks over stacks and stacks refusing to close unless I click again in the gridstack main icon.


They seem to be acting as if they thought they were detached.

If you restart the software, do they immediately begin acting like that or only after a while?

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 675 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 ... 45  Next
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron