Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 10 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:27 am
Posts: 5
In weather module on Winstep Nexus dock there's no my location available for some reason (well, most of the cities worldwide are missing) and I wanted to know is there a chance to somehow add my city/location to weather module? My country is Bosnia and Herzegovina and in weather module only 3-4 cities are listed there. I tried auto-detect location, but without success.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:54 pm
Posts: 13
There is already a post about this a bit further down in this forum. You may want to follow the steps offered in that.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:11 am
Posts: 276
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
What city are you in in that country? You have the ability to put in a METAR or Weather.com code if your city isn't listed.

_________________
vectornut
http://www.vectornut.com


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:27 am
Posts: 5
vectornut wrote:
What city are you in in that country? You have the ability to put in a METAR or Weather.com code if your city isn't listed.


City is Brcko district... or just Brcko.

Where do I find that METAR code on Weather.com?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8271
Weather.com does not work with METAR codes, that is strictly NOAA. Anyway, a weather.com code will be enough to get current and forecast conditions.

Have you read the topic QTP suggested already?

All going well, by next release I should have already updated the weather codes list to include ex-Yugoslavia countries.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:27 am
Posts: 5
winstep wrote:
Weather.com does not work with METAR codes, that is strictly NOAA. Anyway, a weather.com code will be enough to get current and forecast conditions.

Have you read the topic QTP suggested already?

All going well, by next release I should have already updated the weather codes list to include ex-Yugoslavia countries.


Thanks for your reply. I haven't read that as suggested, but I will now, and will try.
If it doesn't work, I'll just wait then for update. :) Hopefully we'll get more cities available then.

ps. I can update METARWCOMData.txt for Bosnia and Herzegovina cities if you want and I can send it on email support, so you can know what cities to add in update for this country.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8271
Squickly wrote:
ps. I can update METARWCOMData.txt for Bosnia and Herzegovina cities if you want and I can send it on email support, so you can know what cities to add in update for this country.


Thanks for the offer, but I don't think that will be necessary. I already have the full cities/codes list, so I'll just write a small program to parse it and add it to METARWCOMData.txt automatically. :)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:54 pm
Posts: 13
winstep wrote:
I'll just write a small program to parse it and add it to METARWCOMData.txt automatically. :)


Is that cool or what?!?!
Respect!! :D


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8271
QTP wrote:
Is that cool or what?!?!
Respect!! :D


AHAHAHA, nah, it's just me being lazy. :wink:

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus weather module problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8271
Ok, finally added all the missing countries and cities.

Size of the location database text file jumped from 1,143 KB to 1,945 KB. Why do you guys have to have so many cities? :wink:

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 10 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron