Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 8 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:24 pm
Posts: 4
I have not been able to find this, nor figure it out.

I ave a number of docks. I use them to easily find groups of documents. As time goes on, those groups are used less frequent. So I want to "move" these dock into a shelf (not creating a shelf from the dock, just placing the dock in a shelf, or in a dock already in the shelf).

I cannot figure out how to get my dock become a sub-dock of an existing dock, or to get it into one of the empty slots in a shelf, both should work if I could do it.

What is the way to achieve it?

--- Mats ---


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:46 am
Posts: 269
MatsBengtsson wrote:
I have not been able to find this, nor figure it out.

I ave a number of docks. I use them to easily find groups of documents. As time goes on, those groups are used less frequent. So I want to "move" these dock into a shelf (not creating a shelf from the dock, just placing the dock in a shelf, or in a dock already in the shelf).

I cannot figure out how to get my dock become a sub-dock of an existing dock, or to get it into one of the empty slots in a shelf, both should work if I could do it.

What is the way to achieve it?

--- Mats ---

Yo need to enable dock control icon in dock properties then use that icon to attach the dock as subdock (if i remember right)


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:24 pm
Posts: 4
seeker wrote:
Yo need to enable dock control icon in dock properties then use that icon to attach the dock as subdock (if i remember right)


Thank you.

It is already enabled in both the dock to be included as well as in the one to be included in. I can though not drag it in, and I can not find it as a file to drag into the dock either. Do you know where to find the dock so it can be referenced? Or that is not the way to do it?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:46 am
Posts: 269
you need to grab the icon itself (icons need to be unlocked) not the dock:
http://prntscr.com/hf2c4d


then you insert the icon where you want the dock to be subdock:
http://prntscr.com/hf2ci0

and now you have moved the dock to be a subdock of another dock (or shelf):
http://prntscr.com/hf2cs0

(for this i duplicated my dock to the left, then inserted the duplicate as the subdock of the original)


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:24 pm
Posts: 4
seeker wrote:
you need to grab the icon itself (icons need to be unlocked) not the dock:
http://prntscr.com/hf2c4d


then you insert the icon where you want the dock to be subdock:
http://prntscr.com/hf2ci0

and now you have moved the dock to be a subdock of another dock (or shelf):
http://prntscr.com/hf2cs0

(for this i duplicated my dock to the left, then inserted the duplicate as the subdock of the original)


Thank you. Managed to unlock Icons. But that was the end of the success.

My dock consist of a number of items, all with icons. I tried to drag not one of the items, but all of the items at once. Thus dragging the "dock". I can drag it, but it "moves" rather than "drags" so it never lands in the dock where I want it to become sub-dock (no way to place it in the dock, it just places it at the same place as the dock).

--- Mats ---


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8803
Ok, first make sure that the control icon (the Nexus icon as the very first icon in any dock) is on for the dock: Dock Properties -> Content tab -> enable 'Show dock control icon' setting.

The very first icon in that dock will now be a Nexus icon. It is this 'control' icon that you drag into another dock, as if you were drag & dropping an item from one dock into another.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:46 am
Posts: 269
winstep wrote:
Ok, first make sure that the control icon (the Nexus icon as the very first icon in any dock) is on for the dock: Dock Properties -> Content tab -> enable 'Show dock control icon' setting.

The very first icon in that dock will now be a Nexus icon. It is this 'control' icon that you drag into another dock, as if you were drag & dropping an item from one dock into another.


to illustrate:

no dock control icon:
http://prntscr.com/hgihzq
http://prntscr.com/hgiizq

dock control icon enabled:
http://prntscr.com/hgijhu


you grab just the control icon, but it takes the whole dock with it when you drop it:
http://prntscr.com/hgikny

http://prntscr.com/hgim61
http://prntscr.com/hgimmk


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to create a subdock from existing dock
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 8803
Also, make sure icons are not locked for the dock.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 8 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: