Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Clock module sais: unable to set the system time
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:47 pm
Posts: 34
I have set the clock module to connect to a time server for syncronisation every 24h. Just a few minuts ago it happened - and the module reported: "unable to set the system time".

I'm not aware when this problem appeared first, because the time display is very reliable and I had no reason to be suspicious about it.

What can be the cause of this message?. In the console I have no problem setting the time to any value.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clock module sais: unable to set the system time
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10458
The Winstep application relies on a Windows Service to perform any function that requires admin rights, such as, for instance, setting the system time.

My guess is that you disabled this service, stopped it from running, or something else happened that is preventing the application from communicating with the service.

Open the Windows Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services and look for a service named 'Winstep Xtreme Service'. If it's not running start it and set the startup type to 'Automatic', then restart the Winstep application.

If you can't find it, then you might need to re-install the Winstep application *on top* of your current installation.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clock module sais: unable to set the system time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 9:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:47 pm
Posts: 34
>> If you can't find it, then you might need to re-install the Winstep application *on top* of your current installation.

Thank You - that was necessary, because the service was not there. Don't know, how it could disappear...


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clock module sais: unable to set the system time
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10458
Don't know either, but all is good when it ends well. :)

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clock module sais: unable to set the system time
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:19 pm
Posts: 820
Location: UK
Ha! And here was I, wondering what could be wrong, perhaps with Hyper-V. Same thing keeps happening here repeatedly lately (last 3 months or so) though intermittently. Have checked for winstep service, no problem there, always present and correct. But sometimes, it saves the time correction some minutes later anyway! Not really a major problem AFAIC, though there are one or two apps I have that insist on correct system time but so farthey have not been affected.

_________________
nexter - so, what's next?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 5 posts ]
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: