Winstep

Software Technologies


 Winstep Forums


Print view
Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 675 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 ... 45  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:19 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
winstep wrote:
Ok, new beta is out.

This, among other misc.additions and fixes, adds support for:

1. Invoking Grid Stacks from NextSTART.
2. Opening shortcuts to folders as Grid Stacks.
3. Automatic multi-monitor/screen resolution profiles.
4. Proper centering plus left and right justifying of tabs in themes that did not previously support this.
5. Fixed disabling menu and shelf scaling on high DPI systems not working properly.
6. Fixed the minimum width calculation allowing tabs in Drawers and Shelves to be cropped on certain themes.

Great! D/l'd and installed. :)

Which reminds me - couldn't we have an option to d/l updates but defer installing, i.e., save update archive wherever we want and then install when it's convenient?

_________________
nexter - so, what's next?


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:42 pm
Posts: 149
winstep wrote:
Ok, new beta is out.

This, among other misc.additions and fixes, adds support for:

1. Invoking Grid Stacks from NextSTART.

Even if I have a known good GS witch launches from the dock I get error messages.
Attachment:
gridstacknotfound.png
gridstacknotfound.png [ 8.42 KiB | Viewed 3070 times ]

Edit:Even if the GS is made in the shelf still msg's

_________________
oOSGearOo Aka Steve....
http://technobable.com
https://www.technobable.com/uncategoriz ... p-extreme/


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
oOSGearOo wrote:
Even if I have a known good GS witch launches from the dock I get error messages.


How did you add that GS pointer to NextSTART? Step-by-step, please.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Ok, never mind, something is indeed wrong.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:42 pm
Posts: 149
winstep wrote:
oOSGearOo wrote:
Even if I have a known good GS witch launches from the dock I get error messages.


How did you add that GS pointer to NextSTART? Step-by-step, please.


Just used the menu's

_________________
oOSGearOo Aka Steve....
http://technobable.com
https://www.technobable.com/uncategoriz ... p-extreme/


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Doh, stupid bug, fixed. Hold on, re-issuing the beta again.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Ok, press the Check for Updates button again, please.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
nexter wrote:
Which reminds me - couldn't we have an option to d/l updates but defer installing, i.e., save update archive wherever we want and then install when it's convenient?


Nope. Just defer the notification in the Update Manager (Remind Me Again In...).

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:42 pm
Posts: 149
winstep wrote:
2. Opening shortcuts to folders as Grid Stacks..

Probably by design. :? This one works but is not remembered, its a one shot charlie.
When you come back again this shortcut/folder is not remembered as "open as GS"

Documents open on the shelf it does open a folder as GS but not the second time round! It opened it in explore(file).

_________________
oOSGearOo Aka Steve....
http://technobable.com
https://www.technobable.com/uncategoriz ... p-extreme/


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:39 am
Posts: 93
After updating:

1) I love I can now open every folder (real or shortcut) as a gridstack.

2) My "Guitar vids" folder as a gridstack seems to have a hard time updating thumbnails. I tried restarting the workshelf once more and I still have the same behavior. Gonna reboot and see.

That doesn't happen with any other folder.

Also, Workshelf seems to create the thumbnails each time I open a gridstack. I guess if they were cached in RAM they don't need to be created each time.

You mentioned loading everything to RAM. Are thumbnails part of that?

3) The missing text on first open after fresh load is still an issue.

4) Workshelf assumes my BenQ monitor is number 2 when in reality is number 3. My other two monitors show up as "Generic" while in windows they are listed as "Acer" and "40 inch TV" respectively.

5) Each time I update Workshelf the "NEXTstart app" also loads, even if I don't use it at all and "start with windows" is also disabled.

Here's a video:



A screenshot from Workshelf and the windows display settings.

Attachment:
2018-11-19_16-12-26.jpg
2018-11-19_16-12-26.jpg [ 35.72 KiB | Viewed 3060 times ]


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:42 pm
Posts: 149
sacco_belmonte wrote:
After updating:

1) I love I can now open every folder (real or shortcut) as a gridstack.

2) My "Guitar vids" folder as a gridstack seems to have a hard time updating thumbnails. I tried restarting the workshelf once more and I still have the same behavior. Gonna reboot and see.

That doesn't happen with any other folder.

Also, Workshelf seems to create the thumbnails each time I open a gridstack. I guess if they were cached in RAM they don't need to be created each time.

You mentioned loading everything to RAM. Are thumbnails part of that?

3) The missing text on first open after fresh load is still an issue.

4) Workshelf assumes my BenQ monitor is number 2 when in reality is number 3. My other two monitors show up as "Generic" while in windows they are listed as "Acer" and "40 inch TV" respectively.

5) Each time I update Workshelf the "NEXTstart app" also loads, even if I don't use it at all and "start with windows" is also disabled.

Here's a video:



A screenshot from Workshelf and the windows display settings.

Attachment:
2018-11-19_16-12-26.jpg



I have two display's both TV's one 40" main display 32" Second,,Your program puts the main display on the left hand TV which is the second display the main display is not labeled as such. The windows control panel just labels them as display 1/2 getting primary display right, however "Nvida display manger" labels them as HSP and AAA, so their is a difference.

_________________
oOSGearOo Aka Steve....
http://technobable.com
https://www.technobable.com/uncategoriz ... p-extreme/


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:39 am
Posts: 93
To add to it (multi monitor) it happens often that my Workshelf on the BenQ monitor (right) changes to the upper TV (top) after I come back from 4K gaming to 1080p.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
sacco_belmonte wrote:
2) My "Guitar vids" folder as a gridstack seems to have a hard time updating thumbnails. I tried restarting the workshelf once more and I still have the same behavior. Gonna reboot and see.


The thumbnails are created by 3rd party thumbnail renderers, which are indirectly called by the Winstep application when asking Windows for a thumbnail of a particular file.

Worse, since MP4, AVI, etc, are just 'container' formats and the videos within can be encoded in a variety of different formats, which codec gets called to provide a thumbnail for a particular video file depends on how the video is encoded.

Note that this is already way beyond the competence of the Winstep application, which only tells Windows: here, take this file and give me a thumbnail back if one exists.

So, my guess is that one of those video files is encoded in a special format and the 3rd party code responsible for returning a thumbnail is REALLY, really slow.

Remember the Winstep application is NOT multi-threaded, it just fakes it (i.e.; do a bit of A, then a bit of B, then a bit of A, etc...) and normally it is pretty successful at it. However, if task B (e.g; getting a thumbnail file) takes a long time to complete, then the rest of the application blocks too.

sacco_belmonte wrote:
Also, Workshelf seems to create the thumbnails each time I open a gridstack. I guess if they were cached in RAM they don't need to be created each time.

You mentioned loading everything to RAM. Are thumbnails part of that?


Yes, but the Winstep application only caches the icons and thumbnails of permanent Grid Stacks (and deletes the cache when you delete the Grid Stack), not the temporary grid stacks that are created when you open a folder as a Grid Stack. It would be a huge waste of memory otherwise.

sacco_belmonte wrote:
3) The missing text on first open after fresh load is still an issue.


No idea what can be causing it yet.

sacco_belmonte wrote:
4) Workshelf assumes my BenQ monitor is number 2 when in reality is number 3. My other two monitors show up as "Generic" while in windows they are listed as "Acer" and "40 inch TV" respectively.


Don't know about the names, the Winstep application gets the monitor name's from Windows - if it's displaying Generic Monitor it's because that is the information Windows is passing along about them.

As for the numbers, simply ignore them. Windows uses an arbitrary hardware based numbering scheme, the Winstep application, on the other hand, numbers them logically: left to right, top to bottom. Look at your diagram and you will understand: TV is #1 because it's at the top of Acer and to the left of the Ben, Ben is #2 because it is at the top of the Acer, then #3 is the Acer because it is below both the Ben and the TV.

This would be more obvious, of course, if you had them side-by-side.

sacco_belmonte wrote:
5) Each time I update Workshelf the "NEXTstart app" also loads, even if I don't use it at all and "start with windows" is also disabled.


Yeah, known issue. :)

sacco_belmonte wrote:
To add to it (multi monitor) it happens often that my Workshelf on the BenQ monitor (right) changes to the upper TV (top) after I come back from 4K gaming to 1080p.


Read my reply to the user that went AWOL after asking a multi-monitor question in the forums to understand what might be going on.

Normally the Winstep application detects when a screen resolution change was caused by a full screen application (such as a game) and doesn't update the position of its objects, but sometimes (depending on the game and what the game does) that can fail.

Anyway, hopefully that is one of the things that the new automatic multi-monitor profiling feature might be able to help with.

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:47 pm
Posts: 811
The Recent tab on the Shelf locks up when I put the cursor over a recent item. I have to exit WorkShelf to get it to work again. It can be reproduced over and over again.

Because of the change to the Shelf, even on a single tab Shelf, (which is docked on the right side) the tab won’t stay at the single tab size and open to whatever amount of folders/icons are in the Shelf.

I thought at least that feature would stay since it is only a single tab and also a different type of Shelf/tab than the one I have docked at the top.

I didn’t see anything mentioned about the Shelf Desktop tab external hard drive delete files issue mentioned in the Change Log. Have you done anything to fix the issue?

Unless you have, there is no way to remove the external hard drives from the Shelf.


Back to top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So, what's next after v18.10?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 10928
Windy wrote:
The Recent tab on the Shelf locks up when I put the cursor over a recent item. I have to exit WorkShelf to get it to work again. It can be reproduced over and over again.


Anyone else able to reproduce this issue?

I think it's system specific Windy, and problem *item* specific too (I'm assuming it only freezes when it's about to display the balloon tooltip). Where are the items that appear in the Recent Documents tab stored at? A network drive? Does it happen with all the items in it?

Give that a try, report back your findings, then click the 'Clear Recent Documents' icon to empty the list and start over.

Windy wrote:
Because of the change to the Shelf, even on a single tab Shelf, (which is docked on the right side) the tab won’t stay at the single tab size and open to whatever amount of folders/icons are in the Shelf.


What do you mean? Are we talking about a single tabbed Shelf or a Drawer?

Windy wrote:
I didn’t see anything mentioned about the Shelf Desktop tab external hard drive delete files issue mentioned in the Change Log. Have you done anything to fix the issue?

Unless you have, there is no way to remove the external hard drives from the Shelf.


I wrote a whole post explaining WHY it was happening. Didn't you read it?

Bottom line is: no, it was Microsoft's decision to add removable drives to the root of the shell namespace and therefore there is no way to remove them from the Desktop tab in Windows 10 (other than by editing the Windows Registry by following the article I linked to, but you do that at your own peril since I didn't try it to see if it works).

_________________
Jorge Coelho
Winstep Xtreme - Xtreme Power!
http://www.winstep.net - Winstep Software Technologies


Back to top
 Profile WWW 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Board index : Winstep Forums : General Discussion  [ 675 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 ... 45  Next
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron